Skip to main content

Deleting an Asset

This article describes how users can delete assets

Written by Bram Timmers

When a draft asset was created in error, and has no further purpose in a workspace, a user can decide to delete that draft asset. In another context, users may also want to remove released assets. This article describes situations in which this is helpful, the difference with canceling a draft asset, how an asset can be deleted, what the consequence of deleting is, and how a deleted asset can be restored (if needed) afterwards.


1. Use cases

Situations in which a user could want to delete an asset, typically have one thing in common. The asset they've created serves no further purpose to their organisation. Oftentimes it was created in error, or it was created just to demonstrate the act of creating an asset to others (by means of training or support).

2. Deleting versus canceling a draft asset

The main differences between deleting an sset and canceling a draft asset are:

Deleting an asset

Canceling a draft asset

Visibly removes the asset from the workspace, including all its versions

Keeps the asset in the workspace, under a new status ('Canceled'), next to all its versions.

Any tasks, iterations, comments or attachments associated are removed

Any tasks, iterations, comments or attachments remain visible on the asset

Outstanding approval requests are deleted, the approval menu is no longer available

Outstanding approval requests are canceled, the approval menu is locked but visible

Activity Log is removed on this asset.

The Activity Log on the asset remains, and shows the cancelation as one of the actions taken.

3. How to delete an asset

To delete an asset, open the asset's action menu by clicking the ellipsis (...) either on the project card (top right corner), or next to the asset's status (on the asset page itself): the menu will show the option 'Delete asset'.


​When you select this option, Cohero asks for your confirmation through the following dialog. It summarizes the consequences of deleting an asset, ways to restore the asset in the future - and offers a way to change your mind ('Keep asset'). If you are certain about deleting the asset, proceed by clicking 'Delete asset'. The asset is then deleted from your view.

4. Consequences of deleting an asset

The consequences of deleting an asset are also described in the confirmation dialog (see previous paragraph), and can be summarized as following:

  • Any uploaded iterations are removed

  • Any active approval workflow is stopped and removed

  • Any tasks on that asset are removed

  • Any attachments or links (bookmarks) added to that asset are removed

  • All versions (if any) are removed

5. How to restore a deleted asset

CoheroAt this point, users can not restore deleted assets by themselves. To restore deleted assets, users need to submit a technical support ticket, specifying the deleted asset in detail - at which point our team will take the action to restore the asset to its original location (along with all the tasks, iterations, approval workflow, attachments/links, statuses and comments that it originally had before it was deleted).

Did this answer your question?