From a hierarchical perspective, each asset sits in one space. The various versions of that asset can be allocated anywhere within that space - either associated to a project, or not (after all, the contextual reason to create those versions may well have been different). The below visualization aims to explain this principle.
For various reasons, assets may find themselves in the wrong space, or users may want to reorganize assets in spaces differently for other reasosn (following organizational changes or as part of cleaning up spaces). To that end, we enable users with manage permissions to move assets to a different space.
1. How to move an asset
To move an asset, click on the ellipsis (...) that contains an asset's action menu. This can be found either on the asset card (top-right corner), or on the asset page (next to the asset name). In the flyout menu, select 'Move asset'. Note that this ability will only be available to those users who have manage permissions to that asset.
Once clicked, a dialog appears, in which you can choose the new space to move the asset to. At first, the existing space is selected (and the 'Move' button is disabled). Once you select a new space, the button is enabled to confirm your choice.
After you've confirmed your choice, the asset is moved to the new space. A confirmation of this is showing as a snackbar notice, down in the bottom-left corner of your screen:
2. Consequence of moving an asset
When an asset is moved to a different space, it has the following consequences:
The asset is no longer visible on views in (or filtered to) the original space
The asset versions remain visible on their original projects they were associated to (in the original space) - but are technically no longer part of that Space. This is done to keep historical accuracy (the asset was created in that project).
The asset now shows up on views in (or filtered to) the new space
The asset's versions can now be added to projects in the new space.




